top of page

83rd Annual Drama League Awards

2017 Honorees Announced!  The Drama League will present three special honors at the Annual Awards:

  • BETTE MIDLER: Award for Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater

  • BILL BERLONI: Award for Unique Contribution to the Theater

  • MICHAEL GREIF: The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing

More information about our honorees can be found below.  


The Drama League also presents five competitive awards: Outstanding Production of a Play, Outstanding Production of a Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the Distinguished Performance Award.  


First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatrical awards chosen by the ENTIRE theatre community – specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and off-Broadway productions.  The membership includes award-winning actors, designers, directors, playwrights, producers, industry veterans, critics and dedicated audiences from across the nation.


At the height of the theatrical season each May, The Drama League Awards are presented in a star-studded luncheon ceremony. Lauded as “a wonderful, notoriously swanky affair” by Playbill and as “the best party on Broadway” by John Lithgow, the Awards Luncheon is considered by many to be the most intimate and friendly event of the awards season.

The 83rd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony will be held held on Friday, May 19, 2017 at theMarriott Marquis Times Square (1535 Broadway @ 46th Street) in New York City beginning at 11:30am. 

Photography By Yoni


bottom of page